

No. 38

# **VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS**

First Session

Thirtieth Legislature

Monday, November 4, 2019

The Speaker took the Chair at 1:30 p.m.

#### **Ministerial Statements**

Hon. Mrs. Sawhney, Minister of Community and Social Services, made a statement regarding Family Violence Prevention Month.

Ms Renaud, Hon. Member for St. Albert, commented on the statement.

#### **Members' Statements**

Mrs. Pitt, Hon. Member for Airdrie-East, made a statement regarding the She Should Run campaign.

Ms Sigurdson, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Riverview, made a statement regarding United Conservative Party campaign promises.

Mr. Walker, Hon. Member for Sherwood Park, made a statement regarding Lynn Davies, who recently passed away.

Mr. Eggen, Hon. Member for Edmonton-North West, made a statement regarding the proposed Budget 2019.

Mr. Yaseen, Hon. Member for Calgary-North, made a statement regarding Financial Literacy Month and Junior Achievement.

Mr. Deol, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Meadows, made a statement regarding a new high school in the Edmonton-Meadows constituency.

Mr. Guthrie, Hon. Member for Airdrie-Cochrane, made a statement regarding federal Liberal government policies.

Mr. Carson, Hon. Member for Edmonton-West Henday, made a statement regarding Government economic and social policies.

Mr. Sigurdson, Hon. Member for Highwood, made a statement regarding the Rowan House Society.

#### **Notices of Motions**

Ms Sweet, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Manning, gave oral notice of her intention to move, pursuant to Standing Order 30, to adjourn the ordinary business of the Assembly to discuss a matter of urgent public importance, namely, to immediately halt the policy decision to lower the age of eligibility for Support and Financial Assistance Agreements from 24 to 22, as this decision hurts young people transitioning out of care.

### **Tabling Returns and Reports**

Ms Hoffman, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Glenora:

Email message dated October 27, 2019, from M. Morin of Edmonton to Ms Hoffman, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Glenora, regarding school support staff

Sessional Paper 339/2019

MLA Ceci, Hon. Member for Calgary-Buffalo:

News release, undated, entitled "Municipalities Need to be Full Partners – A Statement on Bill 20," prepared by the Mayors of Edmonton and Calgary and the Presidents of the Rural Municipalities of Alberta and the Alberta Urban Municipalities Association

Sessional Paper 340/2019

Ms Renaud, Hon. Member for St. Albert:

Website article, undated, entitled "Special Report: Global Warming of 1.5° C, Summary for Policymakers"

Sessional Paper 341/2019

### **Tablings to the Clerk**

Clerk of the Assembly on behalf of Hon. Min. LaGrange, Minister of Education:

Document, undated, entitled "Student Demographic Factors"

Sessional Paper 342/2019

### Motion for Adjournment for an Emergency Debate

Ms Sweet, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Manning, requested leave to move, pursuant to Standing Order 30, to adjourn the ordinary business of the Assembly to discuss a matter of urgent public importance, namely, to immediately halt the policy decision to lower the age of eligibility for Support and Financial Assistance Agreements from 24 to 22, as this decision hurts young people transitioning out of care.

A debate followed on urgency.

The Speaker ruled that the request for leave was not in order.

# ORDERS OF THE DAY

#### **Motions Other Than Government Motions**

**508.** Moved by Mr. Loewen on behalf of Ms Goodridge:

Be it resolved that the Legislative Assembly urge the Government to immediately demand the federal government recognize the benefits Alberta's oil sands and other fossil fuels provide to the people of Canada in terms of economic growth, prosperity, and support for communities across Canada.

A debate followed.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to. With Mrs. Pitt in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 36

Aheer Hunter Allard Loewen Amery Lovely Barnes Luan Carson Madu Deol McIver Dreeshen Neudorf Ellis Nielsen Fir Orr Glasgo Pancholi Gray Panda Horner Rehn

Reid Rosin Rowswell Rutherford Schulz

 $Sigurdson \ {\scriptstyle (Highwood)}$ 

Singh Smith Stephan Sweet Walker Yao

Against the motion: 0

#### **Government Bills and Orders**

#### **Second Reading**

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Second time:

Bill 19 Technology Innovation and Emissions Reduction Implementation Act, 2019 (\$)

— Hon, Mr. Nixon

A debate followed.

Debate adjourned, Ms Pancholi speaking.

# Adjournment

The Assembly adjourned at 6:00 p.m. until 7:30 p.m.

MONDAY, NOVEMBER 4, 2019 — 7:30 P.M.

#### **Government Bills and Orders**

#### **Second Reading**

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Second time:

Bill 21 Ensuring Fiscal Sustainability Act, 2019 (\$) — Hon. Mr. Toews

A debate followed.

Ms Notley moved adjournment of the debate, which was agreed to.

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Second time:

Bill 20 Fiscal Measures and Taxation Act, 2019 (\$) — Hon. Mr. Toews

A debate followed.

Ms Phillips, Hon. Member for Lethbridge-West, moved that the motion be amended by deleting all the words after "that" and substituting the following:

Bill 20, Fiscal Measures and Taxation Act, 2019 (\$), be not now read a second time but that the subject matter of the Bill be referred to the Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship in accordance with Standing Order 74.2.

Hon. Mr. Nixon, Government House Leader, requested and received the unanimous consent of the Assembly to shorten the interval between division bells to one minute for the remainder of the evening.

A debate followed on the amendment.

The question being put, the amendment was defeated. With Mr. Milliken in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the amendment: 10

Carson Nielsen Schmidt

Deol Pancholi Sigurdson (Edmonton-Riverview)

Eggen Phillips Sweet

Feehan

Against the amendment: 28

Allard Shandro Long Armstrong-Homeniuk Nally Smith Copping Nicolaides Toews Toor Glubish Nixon (Calgary-Klein) Gotfried  $Nixon \ ({\tt Rimbey-Rocky \ Mtn. \ House-Sundre})$ Turton Guthrie Panda van Dijken Issik Williams Pon Reid Jones Yao LaGrange Schow Yaseen

Loewen

The question being put, the motion was agreed to. With Mr. Milliken in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 28

Allard Long Shandro Armstrong-Homeniuk Nally Smith Nicolaides Copping Toews  $Nixon \ ({\tt Calgary\text{-}Klein})$ Glubish Toor Gotfried Nixon (Rimbey-Rocky Mtn. House-Sundre) Turton Guthrie van Diiken Panda Issik Pon Williams Reid Yao Jones LaGrange Schow Yaseen

Loewen

Against the motion: 10

Carson Nielsen Schmidt

Deol Pancholi Sigurdson (Edmonton-Riverview)

Eggen Phillips Sweet

Feehan

The following Bills were read a Second time and referred to Committee of the Whole:

- Bill 19 Technology Innovation and Emissions Reduction Implementation Act, 2019 (\$) Hon. Mr. Nixon
- Bill 20 Fiscal Measures and Taxation Act, 2019 (\$) Hon. Mr. Toews

# Adjournment

Pursuant to Standing Order 3(1.1) and on motion by Hon. Mr. Nixon, Government House Leader, the Assembly adjourned at 10:43 p.m. until Tuesday, November 5, 2019, at 1:30 p.m.

Hon. Nathan M. Cooper, Speaker

Title: Monday, November 4, 2019